Using Windows Live to manage your online Identity

There are many good reasons for having multiple online identities.  For example, it is common to have an alias for your personal life, and another one for communicating in a business context.

Many years ago I created the online identity ‘ShowUsYourCode’ with Hotmail.  At the time I was running a web site of the same name and it seemed appropriate to have that as my email address.   I’ve since set up a blog and publish articles on a Spaces site of the same name:

http://showusyourcode.spaces.live.com

But times have changed, and it now feels a little awkward at times when I hand that email address out to my friends.

I’ve now created the new LiveID ‘darren.neimke’ and have associated a new Space with it (so please subscribe to my new blog):

http://neimke.spaces.live.com

I’m going to use the new blog to publish purely Live-branded content, as opposed to diluting it with myriad topics as I do with my ShowUsYourCode blog.

One of the really nice things about the Live platform is that the Live-branded applications have provided us with ways to easily change our identities.  In the picture above, you can see just how easy it is for me to change between my ShowUsYourCode branded identity and my new Darren.Neimke one. 

The way that they do this is by allowing you to link your online identities, which you do via the Accounts page on Live (https://account.live.com).

Doing this gives you ease of access to all of your identities from each of the Live-branded applications.

 

Windows Live Tags: clubhouse, LiveID, story

This entry was posted in Live ID. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Using Windows Live to manage your online Identity

  1. Marcus says:

    Hi Darren,
     
    Great post.  I did the blog splitting excercise a while back as well.  It does help keep things more focused for sure.  It would be great if you could tag some of these posts for the clubhouse so we can catch all the cool stuff from this new blog like we did from your other one.
     
    Thanks again for all your help building the Windows Live community!
     
    – Marcus

  2. Darren says:

    Thanks for the reminder Marcus, I\’ll be sure to add tags to the relevant posts from now on 🙂

  3. Michael says:

    I do that too. Write now, I\’m on my personal blog. The other times, I do another blog sharing some of my insight on what\’s going on in the web world.
     
    I find it much more easier to manage two different blogs, rather than mixing personal and topical.

Leave a comment